‘The Last of Us Part 2’ wins big at Golden Joystick Awards


The Golden Joystick Awards, AKA, the People’s Gaming Awards, recognizes the best video games of the year. In 2019, the award was clinched by Resident Evil 2 and was named Ultimate Game of the Year, 2019.

Image source

Before voting is done, the judge’s panel compiles a list of nominees. In this year’s edition, 24 categories of awards were up for grabs. Interestingly, the ‘Game of the Year’ category received twenty nominations and no fewer than eight PS console exclusives made it through the nomination stage! Of course, we are very excited about these wins for PS4 especially with their recent release of the PS5.

Here are the list of nominees

  • Ghost of Tsushima from Sucker Punch
  • Final Fantasy VII Remake from Square Enix
  • The Last of Us Part 2 from Naughty Dog
  • Demon’s souls by Bluepoint Studios
  • We are indeed joyful to watch The Last Of Us Part 2 from Naughty Dog clinch the Ultimate Game of the Year award, 2020. However, that wasn’t all for the epic title as the The last of Us Part 2 shone brightly in other categories. The game of the year, 2020 also carted the Playstation game of the Year Award, Best Audio, Best Visual Design and Best Story-telling Award.
Image source

  • Another big winner is “Falls Guys”, the game clinched the Best Family game award and the Best Multi-player award. Which will come as no surprise considering it’s rise to fame through it’s release on PS Plus.

The Last of Us Part 2 Cleans Up

  • Below is a list Golden Joystick Award 2020 winners
  • Best Storytelling – The Last of Us 2
  • Best Multiplayer Game – Fall Guys
    Visual Design – The Last of Us 2
    Best Game Expansion – No Man’s Sky: Origins
    Mobile Game of the Year – Lego Builder’s Journey
    Best Audio – The Last of Us 2
    Best Indie Game – Hades
    Still Playing – Minecraft
    Studio of the Year – Naughty Dog
    Esports Game of the Year – Call of Duty: Modern Warfare
    Best New Streamer / Broadcaster – iamBrandon
    Best Family Game – Fall Guys
  • Gaming Community – Minecraft
    Best Performer – Sandra Saad (Kamala Khan)
    Breakthrough Award – Innersloth (Among Us)
    Outstanding Contribution – The Gaming Industry
    PC Game of the Year – Death Stranding
    Best Gaming Hardware – NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080
    PlayStation Game of the Year – The Last of Us 2
    Xbox Game of the Year – Ori and the Will of the Wisps
    Nintendo Game of the Year – Animal Crossing: New Horizons
    Most Wanted Game – God of War: Ragnarok
    Critic’s Choice – Hades
    Ultimate Game of the Year – The Last of Us 2

Are you happy with the way the awards went? Do you think “Last of Us 2” has what it takes to be the Ultimate Game of the Year?

Let us know what you think via the comment section

Also if want some more content to sink your teeth into, why not check out our Cyberpunk 2077 news. Or alternatively, you could check out our review of Watchdogs: Legion. Thank you for reading The Great Gamers.

1 Trackback or Pingback

Leave a Reply


Some Keywords: